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Introduction
There are some text errors in the green rulebook. And some changes have been issued since the publication of the green rulebook. This document lists those errata and updates.

Some controversies exist, primarily in regards to what fan may be combined with one another. The main complaint is that there is no discernible consistent system of principles that one can apply to arrive at a thorough understanding of all the exclusions. The main "controversy" is between those who say "well, then, you'll just have to memorize the exclusions and accept the new ones as they are announced," and those who want to push the WMO to come up with such a system and apply it consistently.
These controversies are noted herein.
These notes were compiled with help from many correspondents worldwide: in Japan, China, Europe, and America. This document was written mainly to communicate questions to the WMO but is hopefully also suitable for other readers.
1.2.3. (P. 04) Book mentions both the World Mahjong Contest Center (WMCC) and the World Mahjong Organization (WMO). The mahjong world needs clarification on this distinction.  Apparently the WMO, who governs the rules, consists of not only the Chinese leaders but also leaders from other countries as well? The WMCC consists of Chinese leaders, and their purpose is to organize events that occur in China (and this body does not govern the rules)? 
3.4.28. (P.08 top) Omission. It's not stated what penalty applies to a player who puts the winning tile into the hand. Perhaps the only penalty is that scoring any unique wait, or Nine Gates, or Last Tile, is denied. Hopefully the WMO will clarify this.
3.5.5.1.3. (P.09) Error. Honor tiles referred to as belonging to suits. (Honors are, of course, not suited.)

3.5.7.2 (P. 11) The procedure commonly used to determine player seating at the table is not described. Which table the player is to sit at is determined by the organizers, but which seat at the table the player will occupy seems to be left to the players to sort out for themselves. It's unknown if the procedure is described in the Chinese text or not.

3.5.7.5. (P. 12 top) Error. South is of course at dealer's right; North is at dealer's left.

3.5.7.5. (P. 12, 2nd para.) Error. Second roller's wall is counted, not dealer's wall. 

3.6.8 (P. 14-15) The Chinese text apparently discusses all three types of kongs, while the English text only discusses two. A brief discussion of the promoted kong is needed here. Need a good translation of the apropos Chinese text.
The last paragraph, atop page 15, doesn't state the penalty for making an erroneous concealed kong. This also needs to be stated.
3.7.2.2. (P. 15) The descriptions of the various special hand structures needs to be amended to include the two types of Knitted Straight hands (with chow or with pung).
3.8.1.38. (P. 19 bottom) Should say "one pung or kong of three of the winds."

3.8.1.52. (P. 21) Since this hand can be made as Seven Pairs, the present English wording is subject to misunderstanding. 

Current wording: "A hand in which each of the five sets (pungs, kongs, chows, pairs) is composed of a different type of tile (Characters, Bamboo, Dots, Winds, and Dragons)."

Suggested wording: "A hand in which each of the five types of tile (Characters, Bamboo, Dots, Winds, and Dragons) is present. Hand may be a 'four sets and a pair' hand or a 'seven pairs' hand."

3.8.1.54. (P.21) "Two Dragons" should be renamed "Two Dragon Pungs" for enhanced clarity.
3.8.1.58. (P.21) The "last tile" (should be "case tile") must be visible to all among melds and discards only. A tile that had been erroneously exposed cannot be counted to account for whether the winning tile is truly the case tile or not. This was made official at the referees' seminar of 2007 at E Mei Shan, and needs to be incorporated into the written rules.
3.8.1.77-79. (P.23) The descriptions of the three types of unique wait each contain an ambiguous sentence: "Not valid if Edge/Closed Wait is combined with any other wait." If a player is holding 1223, waiting for a 2, the player can score either Single Wait or Closed Wait, but not both. Clear examples, such as those given on page 7 in Takeshobo's OIRB, are desirable for the next edition of the MCR rulebook. 12234, 1233, 4556.
3.8.1.81. (P. 23 bottom) Last 2 sentences should read: "When winning on a flower replacement, 1 point for Self-Drawn may be added (the player may not add Out On Replacement Tile, which applies only to kong replacements). It is permitted to discard a flower tile rather than replace it."

The rulebook needs to provide further guidelines as to when a concealed flower may be replaced (only after picking a tile from the wall - never after claiming a discard for a meld). And the penalty for failing to follow the guideline needs to be stated in the next edition of the rulebook.
3.9.1.4. (P. 24) A new sentence is needed between the first and second sentences, as follows: "Scorekeeper shows scoresheet to players for their verification that their score is correct and shown under their names." (This should also be added to the Chinese rules.)

3.9.1.5.5. (P. 25) It appears that the Account-Once Principle really only applies to 2- or 3-chow fan, as I had originally interpreted the principle with Ryan Morris' help. The rulebook needs to be amended to make this clearer.
3.11.6.4. (P. 27, bottom) At the referee seminar  at E Mei Shan in 2007, the penalty was clarified to apply to a tile that was placed in the hand (not merely touched, or even lifted from the wall). Touching/lifting the tile is a progressive/Warning penalty, whereas placing the tile in the hand incurs the death penalty.

Also - the offending player's death penalty is for the current hand, not for the current round.

3.11.6.6. (P. 28, "Erroneous Call for 'Hu'") Parentheses should close after "necessary for 'Hu,'" as follows: "necessary for "Hu"), he forfeits..."  [Note: most very minor such errata are not listed herein.]

3.11.6.7. (P. 29, 3rd paragraph) Sentence should read: "When a player has declared hu and exposed his tiles, and it is discovered that his hand is in error, he shall not be penalized for exposing his tiles. The only penalty that applies is the penalty for false hu, not the penalty for exposed tiles."

3.11.11 (P.30) Another error that a player can make is when a player erroneously exposes a One Bam tile, treating it as a Flower. If the player does this with the "case" One Bam (the very last One Bam tile), and if another player needs it for mahjong, the tile may be claimed for mahjong (and the player may add Last Tile to the score). It's been suggested that a player who is holding the other 3 One Bams (to make 7 pairs) should also be able to claim the "case" One Bam if an opponent erroneously exposes it as a Flower. And there are probably other circumstances under which the tile should be permitted to be claimed for hu. These circumstances all need to be ruled in the rule book. 
3.11.11. (P. 30, bottom) "Don't sue the principle" doesn't make sense (a rule, a principle, cannot be sued -- and there are no "lawsuits" in mahjong anyway). The text should most likely read: "The don't-object-afterwards principle."

3.13.3. (P. 31, bottom)  The sentence is unclear, and needs to be clarified. Apparently the rule is intended to clarify the difference between Arbitrators and referees/judges. Arbitrators deal only with appeals. Only referees/judges are permitted to step in and interfere, make rulings, and impose penalties at tables.
Appendix 1 (P. 32) Paragraph 2 should read: "The hand examples are just to illustrate the scoring patterns in question. There may be other scoring pattern in the same hand that are not mentioned. If there are other scoring patterns in the hand, they should be added according to the scoring principles in section 3.9.1.5."

Appendix 1 (Fan 4, P. 34)  Nine Gates. The five different ways of making Nine Gates (1 or 9, 2 or 8, 3 or 7, 4 or 6, 5) permit the addition of some fan but not others. The example on p.34 illustrates the case of winning Nine Gates on 1 or 9, and does explicitly permit addition of both Pure Straight and Tile Hog (either of which makes the other inevitable). 
At the referee seminar at E Mei Shan in 2007, it was announced by the WMO that Short Straight, Pure Straight, and Two Concealed Pungs may be combined. Terminal Pung may not (neither the first nor the second). 

It's been asked if winning on 2, 5, or 8 permits the addition of Two Terminal Chows, and this question has yet to be answered. It's desired that clarification and examples be given for all five cases, in the next edition of the rulebook.
Appendix 1 (Fan 5, page 34). Four Kongs. The phrase "points for concealed pungs may be added" seems to be insufficient to cover the numerous combinations that are possible. 

To exemplify the problem: If all four kongs are concealed, this writer believes Four Concealed Pungs may be added, and nothing else. Others believe Two Concealed Kongs should also be added, twice. The WMO needs to make a ruling that clarifies exactly how concealment may be combined with hands containing four kongs... or three kongs...

Appendix 1 (Fan 17, page 38). Three Kongs.

Consider a hand containing 1 Concealed Kong, 2 Melded Kongs, and 1 Concealed Pung. This writer believes this would be scored as Three Kongs and either Two Concealed Pungs or One Concealed Kong (not both), but other players disagree (saying both may be added). This needs to be clarified.

Most of the numerous possible pung/kong, melded/concealed combinations are clear enough, but the following combinations are ambiguous and need clarification:
Key:

CK = concealed kong

MK = melded kong

CP = concealed pung

MK = melded pung

1. MK CK CP = 8 points? (two kongs, two concealed pungs)

2. MK CK CP CP = 28 points? (two kongs, three concealed pungs, all pungs,)

3. CK MK MK CP = 42 points? (three kongs, two concealed pungs, all pungs)

4. CK CK MK CP = 62 points? (three kongs, three concealed pungs, concealed kongs, all pungs)

5. CK CK CK MK = 114 points? (four kongs, three concealed pungs, two concealed kongs, concealed kong)

6. CK CK CK CK = 168 points? (four kongs, four concealed pungs, two concealed kongs X2)

7. CK CK CK = 58 points? (three kongs, three concealed pungs, two concealed kongs, concealed kong)

8. CK CK CK CP = 106 points? (three kongs, four concealed pungs, two concealed kongs, concealed kong)
(Note: cases 1-4 above were flagged as problematic by Japan's Kimito Kugimiya; cases 5-8 above illustrate the way Sweden's Per Starbäck believes they should be scored.) These eight cases in particular need clarification by the WMO.

Appendix 1 (Fan 16, P. 38) Four [Pure] Shifted Chows. It has been suggested that Two Terminal Chows should not be permitted with Four Shifted Chows. 2nd example shows such a hand, does not list Two Terminal Chows, but doesn't specifically say that Two Terminal Chows may not be combined. I believe that the omission of Two Terminal Chows to the 2nd example indicates that it probably may not be added. 
There is also a question as to whether it is reasonable to disallow Short Straight. Short Straight is inevitable only if the shifted chows are shifted one step. If shifting is in two steps, then Two Terminal Chows should similarly be prohibited. The problem is in the omission (or lack of consistency) of this point.

Appendix 1 (Fan 19, P. 39) Seven Pairs. A new rule was added at the October 2006 referees seminar in Tianjin: When Seven Pairs is combined with All Green (Fan 3) or with All Terminals (Fan 8), Tile Hog may not be added. In the case of All Green and All Terminals, it's inevitable that one pair would have to be duplicated.  The European Mahjong Association lodged their objection to this rule, during the November 2007 referees seminar in E Mei Shan, because this rule is inconsistent with the WMO's own statement of Scoring Principle 3: "Points of fan appearing inevitably when other two or more fans combine can be added." This writer agrees that it's a bad idea to create exclusions for additional fan that could be implied by two-fan combination situations. It's to be hoped that this Seven Pairs - All Green/All Terminals - Tile Hog exclusion will be dropped from (not included in) the next edition.
Appendix 1 (Fan 35, P. 45) Knitted Straight. Per the new rule added October 2006, Knitted Straight may not be combined with Edge Wait or Closed Wait. This needs clarification. Sometimes the non-knitted set can be a chow or a pair, and sometimes the non-knitted set can be completed with an Edge Wait or Closed Wait (it is not inevitable that the Knitted Straight is the only part of the hand that might be completed in this manner).
A controversial case would be the hand:

B14789 C258 D369 NN (waiting for 7B)

In this instance, 7B can complete either the knitted set 147 or the chow 789. It is not a "unique wait" exactly. Using the 7B to complete the chow to score Edge Wait is apparently permitted, whereas using it to complete the knitted set 147 apparently is not. It would be good if the book would illustrate this example.
Appendix 1 (Fan 52, P. 50) All Types. The word "five" should be deleted, since this hand can be combined with Seven Pairs. Adding "may be combined with Seven Pairs" would also be good.
Appendix 1 (Fan 54) "Two Dragons" should be renamed "Two Dragon Pungs" for enhanced clarity.
Appendix 1 (Fan 57, P.52) Two Melded Kongs (especially One Melded and One Concealed). See Fan 5, page 34. Same problem.
Appendix 5 (P. 59) In the November 2007 WCMJ, the score sheet for a game session was amended to enable players to see the running score.

Back cover. "Scores of structure to be whole."  Note: the phrase "to be whole" is intended to mean "to make mahjong" (to make a complete mahjong hand). But the phrase "to be whole" sounds very odd and awkward to native English speakers. A better way to say "Scores of structure to be whole" would be "The 81 fan and their respective values."
General Observations and Requests 
a. The rules aren't 100% consistent in regards to what is implied and may not be combined. It often happens that "something is implied - but not always in the same way." If you've got all terminals, you've got something else, but whether it's double pung or triple pung, you don't know. If you've got Reversible, you might have one voided suit, or half flush, or full flush. In the first case, you always get the points; in the second you might not (if you have the "worst" possible). It appears that this has been decided on a case-by-case basis, rather than by a guiding overall principle that the reader can reliably apply by himself.
b. The WMO is allowed to create new rules, and if new rules are created, they can be announce in whatever manner the WMO chooses. It's desirable to issue a new rulebook when creating new rules, but that may not be practical in every case. It's also desirable that the WMO take steps to ensure that all players have access to new rules that are created after issuance of a rulebook. It would be best that the WMO ensure that all players have access to the latest updated rules on the WMO's website, with a clear statement that the file is an amendment to the official rules.
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